« Back to news

Jewelry Education - Diamonds

  • Diamond Carat
  • Diamond Color
  • Diamond Clarity
  • Diamond Cut

Welcome to your diamond education - we want to make you a diamond expert! We know that once you understand diamonds you will see, with your own eyes, why a Lasker diamond is the best.

The easiest way to explain a diamond's beauty is using the FOUR C's: Carat, color, clarity, and cut. While these descriptions will help you we would love to have the opportunity to show you how each of these "C's" effects a diamond's beauty. Stop into one of our stores for a quick, easy to understand, demonstration of the 4 C's. You will be an expert in minutes.


A Carat is the unit of measurement for the weight of the diamond.

This is the unit of weight used for diamonds, a word derived from carob seeds used to balance scales in ancient times. This "C" has nothing to do with quality - it is only a measure of weight.

A carat is equal to 200 milligrams and there are 142 carats to an ounce. Carats are further subdivided into points. There are 100 points to a carat-just like pennies to a dollar. For example, a 50-point diamond weighs half a carat.

Often times the carat weight can be easily decided by your budget. If you let us know how much you would like to spend we can show you different diamonds that meet your budget. A one carat diamond of the highest color and clarity can easily cost as much as a diamond almost twice as large with lower color and clarity. We are happy to show you diamonds for you to compare and decide.



A diamond's color ranges from perfectly white to faint yellow.

The best way to see the true color (or lack of color) of a diamond is by looking at it against a white surface. We'll be happy to show you how we grade diamonds for color.

Although most diamonds you will see will appear to be white or "colorless" they actually range in color from perfectly white to faint yellow. Color is graded using the Gemological Institute of America's color grading scale. The scale begins at D and continues to Z. Most Lasker diamonds fall into the colorless or near colorless range of F-J. This means their "color" is typically undetectable to the unaided eye.

Although most diamonds are a shade of white, they do come in all colors - pale yellow, canary, pink, red, green, blue and brown. These are called "fancies," and they are valued for their depth of color, just as white diamonds are valued for their lack of color. The famous Hope Diamond is blue, and the well-known Tiffany Diamond is canary yellow.



A diamond's clarity is determined by its natural characteristics.

Clarity describes what is inside a diamond-the easiest way to think of it is like a birthmark. A diamond's clarity is determined by taking into account the number, size, placement, color and nature of any internal "inclusions"; or external surface irregularities. Inclusions are Nature's birthmarks - characteristics such as crystals, fractures and clouds - included in the stone when it was crystallized from carbon millions of years ago. These marks make each stone unique, for no two diamonds have the same inclusions in the same places. When inclusions do not interfere materially with the passage of light through the stone, they do not affect its beauty. The fewer inclusions a diamond has the more valuable it will be. The Gemological Institute of America's (GIA) clarity grading scale is the most widely used for grading diamonds in the United States. Clarity is graded according to the relative position of the diamond's inclusions on the Flawless-to-Imperfect scale. Most Lasker diamonds will fall be within the GIA grades of VS(very slightly) to SI (slightly included) range. These diamonds offer an excellent value with out sacrificing any visible beauty. 



The a perfectly cut diamond will reflect the maximum amount of light, making it sparkle.

The cut is what makes a diamond beautiful. No matter what color or clarity a diamond has it will not be beautiful unless it is cut to perfection. Every Lasker diamond is hand selected for its brilliant sparkle and shine.

Diamonds are cut according to an exact mathematical formula. A finished diamond has 58 "facets," which are the small, flat polished planes cut into a diamond, so that the maximum amount of light is reflected back to the viewer's eye. This reflection is called "brilliance," and is extremely important in evaluating the quality of a diamond. The widest circumference of a diamond is the "girdle." Above the girdle are 32 facets plus the "table," the largest and topmost facet. Below the girdle there are 24 facets plus the "culet," or point. Cut also deals with the shape of the diamond. Traditional shapes are round, emerald, marquise, pear, oval and heart. Because we hand select every one of our diamonds you can be assured that your Lasker diamond will have the sparkle and brilliance you are searching for.